The PAPTAC Awards recognize excellence in specific management areas and provide an opportunity to promote the highest levels of business leadership in the Canadian pulp & paper and forest-based industry. This recognition is awarded on the largest National platform during PaperWeek Canada, organized by PAPTAC.

Awards for research and technical papers, and recognizing service to the Canadian pulp and paper industry and PAPTAC are also conferred at the Annual Meeting of the Association (PaperWeek Canada).
John S. Bates Memorial Gold Medal

Prof. Theo van de Ven, McGill University, will be presented the John S. Bates Memorial Gold Medal, PAPTAC's highest individual honour, awarded to a member of the Association in recognition of their great contribution to the science and technology of the pulp and paper industry. The award presentation will take place on Thurday, February 7th during the Awards Luncheon.

Honorary Life Membership

Honorary Life Membership will be conferred to Tom Paisley, Mill Manager, Irving Paper, for his extraordinary dedication to the Association.

F.G. Robinson Award

Doug Barbour, Production Engineer at Harmac Pacific - Leader of the Alkaline Pulping Committee, will receive PAPTAC's F.G. Robinson Award, conferred upon a chairman of one of the Technical Committees who has contributed most toward the furtherance of the aims and objectives of the Association and who has shown outstanding leadership and service to his or her committee.

PAPTAC Fellowship

The title of PAPTAC Fellow will be conferred to Stéphane Rousseau, Vice-President, Services and Major Projects, Cascades Tissue Group, in recognition of his long-term and significant contribution to the Association and the pulp and paper industry.

Howard Rapson Memorial Award

The Howard Rapson Memorial Award for best chemical pulp bleaching paper will be presented to Jacqueline Lorette, Solenis, for “Antichlor neutralization of Chlorite”.

Jasper Mardon Award

The Jasper Mardon Award for best papermaking paper will be presented to Jacques Perrault, Cascades CS+ for “Web breaks – causes & cures”.

Douglas Atack Award

The Douglas Atack Award for best mechanical pulping paper will be presented to Yu Sun, Catalyst Paper for her presentation in the PaperWeek 2018 Pulping Panel on « Wood and Fibre Quality Impacts».